Mischief with a purpose

July 15, 2008

I just happened on to Rex Wockner’s blog where he has posted a video documenting classic forms of AIDS activism of the 1990s. You have to watch it. I am sure there are many more of these videos out there; a few show up in the occasional documentary. But this one is funny and quite pointed. Finding it is quite timely also, since the Evil One recently died.  I am sure his family and all his fellow hatemongers miss him.  Lots of people don’t, and I certainly don’t blame them.  On the other hand, having to deal with the effects of his decisions and stances energized some of the most creative activism among queer folks in the US.   He marked an era alright, one that should never have happened, if you ask me.

On the other hand, I can think of a LOT of ideas for acts of mischief I want to commit against some folks here in Jamaica, but I’ll let the ideas incubate for a bit.  I also have to decide who the first target would be: there are so many, many foes and fence-sitters.  The question is where to start?

Leave a Reply

