Yet I will…

June 22, 2008

For the past couple days, I’ve been meditating on Kei Miller‘s book of poems There is An Anger That Moves. It is the only work of poetry that I have read over and over again in one sitting, carting around in my bag like it was a jujustring, a talisman against silence.

Kei seh im tired fi profesy c’aw seh no destruction nah come dung pon di people dem —

But this morning I met Habakkuk, who had a revealing conversation with God.

He asked:

O Lord, how long shall I cry for help, and you will not listen?
Or cry to you ‘Violence’!, and you will not save?
Why do you make me see wrongdoing an look at trouble?
Destruction and violence are before me;
strife and contention arise.
So the law becomes slack and justice never prevails.
The wicked surround the righteous, therefore judgement comes forth perverted.

God answered and said:
Write the vision;
make it plain on tablets,
so that a runner may read it.
For there is still a vision for the appointed time;
it speaks of the end, and does not lie.
If it seems to tarry, wait for it;
it will surely come, it will not delay.

Habakkuk replied:
I have heard about you, and I stand in awe of your work.
In our own time revive it;
in our own time make it known;
in wrath may you remember mercy.
I wait quietly for the day of calamity
to come upon the people who attack us.
Though the fig tree does not blossom,
and no fruit is on the vines;
though the produce of the olive fails and the fields yield no food;
though the flock is cut off from the fold
and there is no herd in the stalls,
Yet I will rejoice in the Lord.
God, the Lord is my strength;
he makes my feel like the feet of a deer,
and makes me tread upon the heights.

Maybe prophesying never was about immediate gratification, the kind that we feel we should experience when we see the hypocrites who stone us an call us na’asty and all ki’n a name fall into pits of fire and burn to ashes. No, maybe prophesying is about making our vision plain, assuming that state of steady and unwavering patience while we keep the wheels turning.

Yet I will….
write
chant
create
sing
imagine
love
murmur

as that vision of justice and right living unfolds before our eyes.

Selah.

Leave a Reply

