Go Deh Father Goose!

February 22, 2008

I finally got around to reading last Sunday’s NYT, and what do I find? A great article on Wayne Rhoden aka Father Goose, who sings music for children (big and small). I have had a smile on my face all day because of this. This is what I want to see more of coming from Jamaicans – real ingenuity and a genuine love for one’s craft and for making the world a better place, without being pimped out by anybody. I’ve been looking out for, and complaining, that there is nothing called “children’s music” coming from Ja. and here I have found something wonderful. I’m buying his CD’s right now. I’m so excited for and about him, I could burst!

4 Responses to “Go Deh Father Goose!”

  1. Esteban Agosto Reid Says:

    Kudos,praises and respect to Rankin Don.Excellent piece by the New York Times.One wonders if Rankin Don/Father Goose would be able to make an impact on the music scene in Jamaica,specifically, as it relates to music for children,or is the Jamaican music scene including children’s music too coarse,rough,brutish,and boorish and would possibly consider Rankin Don too soft and compassionate? Way to go Rankin Don,children do need positive influences in their personal growth and development.RESPECT!!

  2. longbench Says:

    Yes, I definitely think he needs to step into the music scene here in Jamaica and offer a model — not necessarily a blueprint — for the importance of children’s music. We as adults assume that, like in everything else, that children should be seen and not heard, so we allow the slackness to dominate in the music and complain when children can only sing and talk slackness. And whose fault is it that childhood is completely unrecognized and glossed over, if not made traumatic? Not the kids. As an adult, i can tell you I enjoy children’s concerts far more than ones for adults. They are fun and you learn a lot!! Just in December, I was talking with a couple friends and throwing around an idea of organizing a free (!) concert for children just for the fun of it. None of us could come up with a solid lineup of local talent beyond Rita Marley, so we would have to raise money to fly a bunch of people in and all the crap that would come with that. And here he was all along — I might still do it.

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Longbench, I wanted to express my sincere thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. The point is well taken. You are right.

  4. F. Goose Says:

    Wow I am seeing this post for the first time, Thanks everyone for the kind words. I am only trying to keep the rich culture alive.
    The World Is A Chorus Line, let’s all sing and dance in harmony.


Leave a Reply

