I just heard that he died.  I am not a huge fan of comedy – most of it is vacuous crap that I swear I could hear at the bus stop or on the street.  But, this guy is one of the few comedians I have actually stopped to watch and listen to on the boob tube.   Raunchy, irreverent and cynical, that he was.  But you always stopped to think after gasping for breath from a belly-aching laugh.   He was a treasure.

So this is one if his classics.  I chose it because I think it really speaks to our situation here in Jamdown.  Replace American with Jamaican and you’ll see what I mean. 

“Everybody complains about politicians. Everybody says they suck.  Well, where do people think these politicians come from? They don’t fall out of the sky. They don’t pass through a membrane from another reality. They come from [American] parents and [American] families, [American] homes, [American] schools, [American] churches, [American] businesses and [American] universities, and they are elected by [American] citizens. This is the best we can do folks. This is what we have to offer. 

It’s what our system produces: Garbage in, garbage out. If you have selfish, ignorant citizens, you’re going to get selfish, ignorant leaders. Term limits ain’t going to do any good; you’re just going to end up with a brand new bunch of selfish, ignorant [Americans].  So, maybe, maybe, maybe, it’s not the politicians who suck. Maybe something else sucks around here… like, the public. Yeah, the public sucks.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.